Stark Continuing Education Grant

Historic Preservation Planning Alumni, Inc. (HPPA) created the Stark Continuing Education Grant program in 2016 to support alumni seeking to enhance their preservation education. Will Stark (‘99) exemplified the values of lifelong learning, and the grant honors his commitment to excellence through education. This competitive grant is intended to help alumni pursue specialized training that may otherwise be financially impossible. In 2019, up to $500 will be distributed.

Please consider donating to ensure the sustainability of this grant!

Eligible Applicants

Alumni of Cornell’s Historic Preservation Planning MA Program are eligible to apply. Applicants must be planning to attend a conference/training/workshop held between September 1, 2019 and August 31, 2020. Members of the HPPA Board of Directors and of the HPPA grants committee are ineligible during their period of service and oversight.  

Eligible Expenses

Eligible expenses include conference, class, or workshop related expenses, including registration, travel, lodging, and required training materials. Other expenses not listed here may be approved on a case-by-case basis, as the committee recognizes that different education sessions may have different requirements.

Maximum Grant Request

$500. Half of the award ($250) is disbursed after the proposal’s acceptance. The second half will be disbursed at completion of the training and necessary documentation.

Final Report and Acknowledgement Requirements

Grantees are required to provide proof of completion, when possible, submit expense receipts, and an approximately 500-word final report. The final report will be published in the HPPA newsletter.

Deadline and Requirements

Applications are due August 1, 2019. Award announcements will be made no later than September 3, 2019.

Applications are only accepted via e-mail. Completed applications and/or questions can be directed to Shannon Cilento, Grants Committee Chairperson.

Stark Continuing Education Grant Application Form

Past Recipients


Shannon Cilento


Olivia White